Teal Pumpkins . . .

This year, teal pumpkins for Halloween take on a different meaning. I’ve been dealing with food allergies, but this year? We add a new one to the mix.

The other day, I learned what a mild anaphylactic  reaction can be like. I should have gone to Walk In Care, but didn’t recognize it for what it was until later. Now I know.

I’ve got a doctor’s appointment lined up to discuss having an epi pen. I have a medic bracelet on the way. But I’m still a bit overwhelmed by this. My dairy allergy isn’t life threatening, so this is a whole new experience. All new things to learn all over again. More food to look for and avoid.

Then I start doubting myself, wondering if I imagined it or convinced myself it was happening. But I described it to the medical examiner that comes to work & he confirmed it, as well as a pair of co-workers whose kids have allergies. They all agree. And I don’t know if I’m relieved or disappointed.

So in the meantime, I do what I do. I read. I research. I prepare. I’ve made a doctor’s appointment and let family and Co workers know. I’ve ordered a medical bracelet.

But this is Maine. Seafood is huge in our culture here. Sigh.

9 thoughts on “Teal Pumpkins . . .

    • Very scary! I truly didn’t really recognize it for what it was until I was way into it. Still should have gone to the hospital, but hindsight and all. Now it’s time for a new game plan. 🙂

      • I am just so very glad you are okay. One never really think of going to the hospital for oneself. If its the kids we always take them, but dont think we need to go as well.
        Take it easy and work on your new game plan. 🙂

  1. Food allergies are scary and suck to live with, and explaining them to some people is rather difficult. I’m glad to see you’re okay and managed to catch that before anything bad happened. It’s good to see you have a decent group of people around you to help in case of a reaction.

    • Thank you. I’m very fortunate to work with some terrific people that are well familiar with them and the more serious reactions. My family tries very hard as well. Kudos to my husband though, it can’t be easy for him to keep up. LOL (And my son, who is 16, is great about watching out for me!)

      • I grew up with a father who had nut allergies, and as a teenager I developed an allergy to bananas and black pepper, a couple years ago I developed another allergy to watermelon. My daughter is allergic to every tree nut and legume under the sun, and highly saturated food dyes. So believe me, I completely understand what you’re going through. I will say be careful because you can get delayed onset anaphylaxis reactions, and that’s something that the doctors don’t mention unless it’s actually happening, and that can last weeks.

      • Oh wow! I’d never even heard that before, so thanks for the heads up. So far the only thing lingering is a sore throat (think swollen glands). Not unbearable, but I know it’s there.

  2. I feel you! Seafood is a big a deal in NH as it is in Maine. I have a shellfish allergy. Not bad enough that I’ve ended up in the hospital but bad enough my doctor gave me an epi pen just in case. I’m also super careful about not eating it. I CAN have fish, like regular fish, like haddock and tuna, but shellfish (of any kind) is completely out.

Leave a Reply

