THAT project. You know the one . . .

Surely we all have that one project that we lose excitement for right? The one that just keeps going on and on and never ends? What do you do then?

I have this lovely scarf out of Isager that is so simple – it’s garter stitch with an increase at the start of each row. That’s it. But it’s lace weight and light and frothy and so lovely. I love the yarn and it’s so pretty, but now I just want it off my needles and done.

So what do you do when the excitement has fizzled? Do you plow on? Do you frog it? Does it depend on the project?

10 thoughts on “THAT project. You know the one . . .

  1. I think it does depend on the project, some things (especially very fine yarn ones) I don’t want to lose the labour I’ve put in, and some I’ll just admit defeat and frog.πŸ˜‚ As I’ve upgraded from my cheap starter needles, to better quality ones now that I knit more regularly, I’ve kept the old needles. I have transferred projects off onto those spare needles, as a kind of project purgatory, until the spark comes back. That way I can get on with new projects, but my half done piece can be put away neatly and securely.

    • Project Purgatory – that’s a great idea! πŸ™‚

      some things (especially very fine yarn ones) I don’t want to lose the labour I’ve put in…

      Exactly! I think that’s about where I am with this. It’s soft and luscious yarn and will be so pretty when it’s through. It’s just getting to that point. At least it’s only garter stitch? πŸ˜›

  2. If you know you really want the scarf, then if I were you, I’d ‘reward’ myself by knitting a set amount – x rows or half an inch say, and then I’d work on a different project πŸ™‚

    • Its hard to measure up – one row takes FOREVER because there’s a lot of stitches. Inches wise, still a bit weird. It’s lace weight on 7’s, so that adds up pretty quickly. πŸ™‚ I’m just going at it evenings while the news is on until it’s done. If I think less about it, it’s a bit easier. It’s SO pretty, just dragging because it grows quickly and slowly at the same time.

  3. For me it totally depends on the project. Sometimes if I know I’ll never get back to it, I frog it. Sometimes it gets put away for a little while until I want to work on it again, and sometimes I just plow on because it’s close to being done and I just want it off the needles.

    • Yes! And right now, I’m n between plowing on because it’s close and putting it away for a while. It’s SO close, but September is going to be crunch time, so I have to set it aside for now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

