Out and About in Maine

I kind of disappeared again. Oops? It’s been busy, though. Work was hectic, then I went on vacation. We didn’t really go anywhere just a few short day trips.

The first four photos are from the first day trip with my son and his girlfriend. We went to the Rockland Lobster Festival because there’s NOTHING better than fresh Maine lobster. YUMM There was a carnival set up, but there were also MANY New England craftsman. I came home with deer antler buttons for a sweater (yet to be planned), calendula infused herbal salve and an oil, fudge (mostly for the kids) and creamed maple syrup with cinnamon. We also bought a few pieces of maple sugar candy, but those didn’t last long. 🙂

After we left the Lobster Festival, we went to the Owl’s Head Lighthouse. It was a stunning walk in and the day was beautiful.

On the way home, we stopped at Swan’s Island Blankets. Oh my, the lovelies! SO many beautiful woven blankets and accessories, plus they also have their own yarn line. I couldn’t resist getting a hank of lovely wine colored fingering weight. 🙂

The next trip was on Tuesday as my sister and I went to the Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village. It is the only remaining ACTIVE Shaker settlement in the country. It’s over 200 years old and the history of the place was overwhelming and so moving. The fifth photo shows one of their streets. The building on the right is a self guided museum tour of the village’s history. There’s also tours of some buildings that are only open to the public through the tour, including their meeting house. I bought some herbs (homegrown), peppermint tea (also homegrown and the best tea I have ever had) and some wool from their own sheep. 🙂 I truly want to go back for more herbs/tea and though I won’t make it this year, there’s a Harvest Festival that I would love to make sure I can get to next year. 🙂

On Sunday, my son and his girlfriend and I went to local drag races. 🙂 I have a friend that races his snowmobile, so we always try to make it when he’s here racing. It was such fun! I love to see the cars (oh the cars!), the kids just learning. We had great weather, not too hot, and for once I remembered sun block and didn’t burn. 😛

And lastly, Monday evening I made homemade chicken zoodle soup. I had made and frozen the chicken broth a few weeks ago, so that was thawed quickly, then plenty of veggies and fresh, homegrown herbs were cut and tossed in. As I eat Paleo, I also used zucchini noodles instead of noodles from a zucchini a co-worker had grown and given to me – so yummy! And today? It was just good as it was Monday, if not better. 🙂

That was me catching up in a nutshell. What have YOU been up to? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Out and About in Maine

Leave a Reply

