Kitchen herbs

I have a very roughly built raised bed at the corner of my house that my son and I built last year. Last year I put annuals in that flourished and looked beautiful, but this year I couldn’t decide what I wanted there. I thought about holding out until fall and planting bulbs for next year (with annuals again for the summer). I thought about perennials. I thought about a lot of things.

But then I got the kitchen garden in and realized I left myself no room for any kitchen herbs. Oops. I’ve tried an herb container garden. It didn’t go well.

Viola! That’s what I’d do with this bed. Put my rosemary, thyme, oregano and chives there. So today, I was on a mission. I got all of those, plus basil and sage. I bought compost and good soil and snagged some newspaper from my MIL and laid everything out, except for a plant from my husband’s aunt that I need to move in the fall. This should be perfect – it’s right by the front door!

And here we have a before and after. I did extra chives and basil because we use those the most often. NOM!

2015-05-29 19.17.44 2015-05-29 19.39.05

5 thoughts on “Kitchen herbs

  1. So nice! Depending on your temperatures in winter you might also be able to cover with straw and preserve them for next year. Mine is right by the front door too, but is so beautiful when they start blooming. Of course, I use most of them before they ever bloom, but still when they do it is lovely.

    • We get extremely cold in winter. It gets to about -40F where I live for much of January and February and much, much snow. The chives might come back next year, but that would probably be about it.

Leave a Reply

