Let’s shake things up

I love knitting socks. I’ll wear nothing else and love to try new patterns. They’re how I started knitting (my husband asked for a pair when I hadn’t done anything for years and what I HAD done was simply garter stitch when I was a child).
But I’d never knit a pair of toe up. Frankly, the toe and its different methods for cast on intimidated me. Finally, a week or so, I bit the bullet and cast on my first toe up sock.

The pattern is from Wendy Johnson and I did the figure 8 cast on. I have to admit, after doing so many pairs cuff down, it feels downright ODD to do it in the other direction. I had a very hard time picturing the heel as I was going (gusset with short rows), but I took the advice I’d given someone when I’d taught them to do socks and told them it would make sense in the end – and it did.

I’m on to the leg now, I’ve completed the heel, and I have to admit that I can see why people like toe up. 🙂 I’m hoping I can get it finished tomorrow morning before heading down to the yarn store for work tomorrow. Hope hope!

So here it is. My first toe up sock knit in Regia. 🙂 Love it!

20150513_063133

12 thoughts on “Let’s shake things up

  1. It is pretty indeed. I knit toe-up socks. I find it easier to get the size just right. Then you can knit the leg as long as you want it, or as much as your yarn permits. 🙂
    Well done on the toe-up!

    • Thank you! I will definitely be making more, for sure. 🙂

      What is your favorite cast on for toe up? I have also done Judy’s and liked that. 🙂

      • I do Judy’s. 🙂 I taught myself from youtube videos and have never learned any other technique. So I just go with what I know, and what works for me.
        Have fun with your sock knitting, I love them. (Now I feel like making socks again, I should go look for a pattern, lol)

      • I tried Judy’s the first time around. And the second. I got it the third time. 😛 I like that one, too.

        I showed it to the woman that owns that yarn store I work at and she’d like me to do a sock class when I get more practice with these. EEP! 🙂

      • Wow, what fun. 🙂 The owner of my LYS also teaches, but she does the basics mostly. I would love a teacher that does the more intricate techniques and secrets.
        I just know you will be great at the sock class! 🙂

      • I think it would be great! 🙂 I also love that she thinks enough of me to want me to do it. There’s interest in cuff down, too, but I think the two techniques would have to be separate classes.

  2. Love that pretty peach! I’m a hardcore convert to doing two at a time toe-up. It seems way faster to me! (probably because I don’t have to work up the guts to cast on the second sock.)

  3. I’ve only ever tried toe-up one time, and it turned into a big, gappy mess at the gussets. I don’t know if I was doing something wrong or just got my paws on a bad pattern. I think you may have inspired me to try it again, though….your sock is lovely! 😀

    • I have to admit that the first time I tried the sock, I had a big mess at the gusset, too. 🙂 So I frogged it and started again and it went much better this time around. Hope you’ll give it another shot!

  4. My personal favorite reason for doing toe-up socks is that I can use ALL the yarn (or very close) because I can just knit the leg until I’ve used almost half the yarn, then cast off, and then knit the second sock, and there you go! Two socks and almost no leftovers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

