There should be a witty title here

There has not been a lot of knitting the last few days.  I coughed and pulled a muscle in my chest and have been incredibly uncomfortable.  It’s a bit better today, so hopefully I’m back to my knitting self soon.

I’ve had a wicked time checking in.  I can check on my phone or tablet,  but it’s not ideal so it’s a pain.  I did order my new laptop today,  so by midweek I should be back to normal. 

It’s going to be quite a change though – going from Linux to Win8 (gag! – be glad for Win10! )

10 thoughts on “There should be a witty title here

  1. I just (this very week) went from Linux to Windows 8…it hasn’t been quite as bad as I thought it would be. Luckily, my husband has to be familiar with Windows for work, so he was able to answer questions. 🙂 Enjoy your new laptop, and I hope you’re feeling all better soon!

    • That is actually reassuring to hear. What distro were you running? Much as I hate to say it, I’m looking forward to not having compatibility issues (Amazon prime vids were spotty, at best, as was Netflix), and my a scanner/ printer never worked properly, even with WINE. It’s going tty o be an adjustment though . My son had it on his laptop before we had to put in a new hard drive and put Linux on it, so I’m semi-familiar with it.

      • I was an Ubuntu user, and I fully agree with you about compatibility. For most things Linux is beautiful, but every once in a while things just won’t work out right. I’ve got my fingers crossed that we’ll all be pleased with our new Windows situations. 🙂

      • Same here. I’d been using it since 8.04 and I loved it. No crashes, viruses, etc. So very shiny.

        We’ll have to keep each other posted. Mine arrives Wednesday, I think!

  2. I’ll say this. I have a Win8.1 computer and I bought a little $5 program called Start8 which gives you back your more traditional start menu. I think it’s the best $5 I spent on a computer program.

      • I’m debating whether to get the update or just get a new computer. The laptop I have is from when Win8 first came out. I’m a bit of a power user so this poor laptop didn’t know what hit it. I’m actually thinking about keeping the laptop with Win8 and getting a nice gaming desktop with Win10

      • There you go! I need to see what the mother board can take for RAM and may add more. 😛 I haven’t played computer games on years but might now (and even then I was only into the Sims. Lol)

      • While I do game, I actually want the power of a gaming pc because I like to run 6 different programs at once, including photoshop or illustrator. I wasn’t joking when I said power user! I’ve brought computers to their (figurative) knees because I like to multi-task

Leave a Reply

